Celebrating Family Business

The global marketplace looks to family businesses to lead on issues such as company loyalty, community focus and social responsibility. We honor those efforts.

Smarties, a Halloween Favorite, Remains a Sweet Family Business

Generations of Halloween trick-or-treat bags have been haunted by Smarties candies. Yet these diminutive rolls of pastel-colored wafers, which for years children have eaten in the hopes, perhaps, of improving their intellect, may turn out to be smart treats after all, at least for some allergen-sensitive families. The candies are not only vegan, but also dairy-free and produced in a nut-free facility in Union.

Find out about the Oldest Family Business in the World

Advertisement

advertisement

Recommended Reads

Family Business books available on Amazon

A rich and lively survey of the great families who rule industry by the acclaimed author of The Wealth and Poverty of Nations
From the acclaimed, award-winning author of Alexander Hamilton: here is the essential, endlessly engrossing biography of John D. Rockefeller, Sr.—the Jekyll-and-Hyde of American capitalism.
The Private and Powerful Family Behind The New York Times
This is the frank and honest story of the Thornton family and their confectionery business.

Sam Johnson and the company that made him proud.

Letters from a Self-Made Merchant to His Son - Being the Letters written by John Graham, Head of the House - of Graham & Company, Pork-Packers in Chicago, familiarly - known on 'Change as
"I’m not a businessman—I’m a business, man." —Jay Z
In the tradition of Rich Cohen’s Sweet and Low and Sean Wilsey’s Oh the Glory of it All, a memoir of a city, an industry, and a dynasty in decline, and the story of a young artist’s struggle to find her way out of the ruins.

Pin It on Pinterest